

Board of Trustees

Mayor Frank Scott, Jr. Little Rock, AR President Mayor Shawyn Patterson-Howard Mount Vernon, NY 1st Vice President

Mayor Steven Reed Montgomery, AL 2nd Vice President

Mayor Byron W. Brown Buffalo, NY Treasurer

Mayor Sharon Weston Broome Baton Rouge, LA Secretary

Mayor Sylvester Turner Houston, TX Immediate Past President

Mayor McKinley L. Price Newport News, VA Past President

Mayor Hardie Davis, Jr. Augusta, GA Past President

Mayor Eric Adams New York City, NY

Mayor Joseph Barnes, Sr Urbancrest, OH

Mayor Muriel Bowser Washington, DC

Mayor LaToya Cantrell New Orleans, LA

Mayor Lori Lightfoot Chicago, IL Mayor Wayne Messam

Miramar, FL

Mayor Brandon Scott Baltimore, MD

Mayor Victoria Woodards Tacoma, WA

Mayor Randall L. Woodfin Birmingham, AL

то. Ц с

U.S. Representative Matt Cartwright (D-PA-8)

Committee on Appropriations

U.S. House of Representatives H-307 Capitol Building Washington, DC 20515

November 16, 2022

ear Chair Cartwright:

As Chair of the House Appropriations Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, Science, and Related Agencies, I write to you in my role as President of the African American Mayors Association (AAMA) imploring you to fully fund the authorized amounts of key provisions of the CHIPS and Science Act.

Specifically, AAMA is particularly interested in the following programs:

- 1. Regional Technology and Innovation Hub Program (\$10 billion over five years; \$2 billion for FY23)
- 2. RECOMPETE Pilot Program (\$1 billion over five years; \$200 million for FY23)
- 3. Fostering Stem Research Diversity And Capacity Program (\$750 million over five years; \$150 million for FY23)
- 4. MSI Centers of Innovation (\$1.2 billion over five years; \$200 million for FY23)

Not only is this a historic investment in diversifying STEM for generations to come, but these potentially transformative investments in regional innovation ecosystems would be of great benefit to AAMA communities that are smaller, more rural, or that have not seen the sort of growth experienced elsewhere as a result of previous technology booms. Further, these provisions come at a time when the Minority Business Development Agency (MBDA) within the U.S. Department of Commerce (DOC) has new authority to ensure that any funding for regional technology and innovation hubs incorporate Minority Business Enterprises (MBEs) and entrepreneurs of color. Lastly, the CHIPS and Science Act provides generational investments in expanding the research and development (R&D) capacity of Historically Black College and Universities (HBCUs).



AAMA 80 M. Street, SE, Suite 1 Washington, D.C. <u>20003</u> ourmayors.org aama@ourmayors.org

202.670.2018



Board of Trustees

Mayor Frank Scott, Jr. Little Rock, AR President Mayor Shawyn Patterson-Howard Mount Vernon, NY 1st Vice President

Mayor Steven Reed Montgomery, AL 2nd Vice President

Mayor Byron W. Brown Buffalo, NY Treasurer

Mayor Sharon Weston Broome Baton Rouge, LA Secretary

Mayor Sylvester Turner Houston, TX Immediate Past President

Mayor McKinley L. Price Newport News, VA Past President

Mayor Hardie Davis, Jr. Augusta, GA Past President

Mayor Eric Adams New York City, NY

Mayor Joseph Barnes, Sr Urbancrest, OH

Mayor Muriel Bowser Washington, DC

Mayor LaToya Cantrell New Orleans, LA

Mayor Lori Lightfoot Chicago, IL

Mayor Wayne Messam Miramar, FL

Mayor Brandon Scott Baltimore, MD

Mayor Victoria Woodards Tacoma, WA

Mayor Randall L. Woodfin Birmingham, AL AAMA's member-mayors are energized by these provisions and are invested in ensuring that this legislation is implemented equitably so that communities of color, HBCUs, and communities outside of metropolitan areas with mature technology ecosystems receive the benefits that Congress intended. All of that starts with Congress appropriating what it recently authorized for both R&D and regional technology and innovation hubs. Please consider us a partner moving forward and we are eager to work with you.

Regards,

Forthalls 2

Frank Scott, Jr. Mayor, Little Rock, AR President, African American Mayors Association

CC:

U.S. Senator Jerry Moran (R-KS)

U.S. Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH)

U.S. Representative Robert Aderholt (R-AL-4)

U.S. Representative Joyce Beatty (D-OH-3)

U.S. Representative Brenda Lawrence (D-MI-14)



