The African American Mayors Association (AAMA) is the only organization exclusively representing African-American mayors in the United States. AAMA exists to empower local leaders for the benefit of their citizens. The role of the African American Mayors Association includes taking positions on public policies that impact the vitality and sustainability of cities; providing mayors with leadership and management tools; and creating a forum for member mayors to share best practices related to municipal management.

Advisory Board

The Advisory Board consists of persons whose integrity, capability, experience, knowledge of the communities and institutions served by AAMA, and community standing will help the Board of Trustees carry out its functions.
Vivian Covington

Former Mayor of University Park, IL

Karen Freeman-Wilson

Former Mayor of Gary, IN

Jacqueline Goodall

Former Mayor of Forest Heights, MD

Toni Harp

Former Mayor of New Haven, CT

Betsy Hodges

Former Mayor of Minneapolis, MN

Michael Nutter

Former Mayor of Philadelphia, PA

Stephanie Rawlings-Blake

Former Mayor of Baltimore, MD

Sly James

Former Mayor of Kansas City, MO

Michael Coleman

Former Mayor of Columbus, OH

Alvin Brown

Former Mayor of Jacksonville, FL


Board of Trustees

Mayor Shawyn Patterson-Howard

(Mt. Vernon, NY)

Mayor Steven Reed

(Montgomery, AL)

Mayor Byron Brown

(Buffalo, NY)

Mayor Wayne Messam

(Miramar, FL)

Mayor Sharon Weston Broome

(Baton Rouge, LA)

Mayor Frank Scott, Jr.

(Little Rock, AR)

Mayor Vi Alexander Lyles

(Charlotte, NC)

Mayor Brandon Scott

(Baltimore, MD)

Mayor Eric Adams

(New York City, NY)

Mayor LaToya Cantrell

(New Orleans, LA)

Mayor Errick Simmons

(Greenville, MS)

Mayor Quinton Lucas

(Kansas City, MO)

Mayor Rachel Proctor

(DeSoto, TX)

Mayor Randall Woodfin

(Birmingham, AL)

Mayor Tishaura Jones

(St. Louis, MO)

Mayor Van R. Johnson II

(Savannah, GA)

Mayor Victoria Woodards

(Tacoma, WA)